Debating Society

IIM Calcutta's Debating Society, often referred to as Debsoc, aims to form a renowned, self-sustaining community of active debaters who grow together in skill and provide platforms for discussion and debate. We come together every week to debate fervently in addition to representing the college at other such occasions. Although both amateurs and professionals are equally welcome, it is a select group of people who are passionate about debating. We introduce the participants to various debate formats and help them develop skills which in long turn helps develop confidence, public speaking, quick response and impromptu thinking aspects and helps them in their career.

Events for current academic year:

  • Fresher Debate
  • Independence Day Thoughts
  • JAM Session
  • British Parliamentary Debate
  • PGP1-PGP2 Debate
  • Bobby Saldanha Memorial Asian Parliamentary Debate
  • World Economic Forum Debate
  • Mock Parliament
  • Model United Nations
  • Alumni Debate (Remini)
  • Badla Debate
  • Faculty Debate
  • Open Debate

Core Members:

  1. President
    Ishika Goyal - 9414173242 - ishikag2023@email.iimcal.ac.in
  2. VP, Events
    Vani Dugar - 9339566020 - vanid2023@email.iimcal.ac.in
  3. VP, PR
    Prakriti Gupta - 7015144795 - prakritig2023@email.iimcal.ac.in
  4. Non Core Team
    Medha Bhasin - 7042427166 - medhab2023@email.iimcal.ac.in
    Shambhavi Joshi - 9326839721 - shambhavij2023@email.iimcal.ac.in
    Aniket Singh - 8770317614 - anikets2023@email.iimcal.ac.in

Reach out to us at:
Official Email: debsoc@email.iimcal.ac.in
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/iimc_debsoc/
LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/company/iimc-debsoc/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/iimcdebsoc
Twitter: https://twitter.com/iimc_debsoc
Blog: https://iimcdebsoc.substack.com/