Distinguished Alumnus Award

  • Dr. M R Madhavan

    Dr. M R Madhavan is the President and co-founder of PRS Legislative Research, a public policy research institution that aims to bring more transparency, information and participation in India’s law-making process. His organization provides analytical support to MPs and State Legislative Assemblies to help make informed decisions, and has been invited by Parliament Standing Committees to testify on important bills such as the Civil Nuclear Liability Bill and the Lokpal Bill. In addition, it has started the Legislative Assistance to Members of Parliament (LAMP) Fellowship, a prestigious programme that selects and trains young people to be Research Assistants to MPs.

    Dr. Madhavan is a fellow from IIM Calcutta, an MBA from IIM Calcutta and holds a B.Tech degree from IIT Madras. Before moving to the public sector, he made his mark in the corporate world as Principal and Senior Strategist for the Asia region at Bank of America, Singapore. He was a Gurukul Chevening Scholar at the London School of Economics, and has been conferred with NDTV Indian of the year 2013 for Public Service.

    Dr. M R Madhavan receiving his award

  • Nishi Vasudeva

    Nishi Vasudeva is the first lady to be appointed as the Chairman and Managing Director of Hindustan Petroleum Corporation. Before taking over as the CMD, she served as the Director of Marketing and Executive Director-Marketing Coordination. She has had an impressive experience of 36 years in diverse functions such as corporate strategy & Planning, Information Systems and LPG Strategic Business Unit. Ms. Vasudeva was a key member of the Sundararajan Committee, constituted by the Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Gas, which carried out an in-depth analysis of the Petroleum sector and was instrumental in laying down several key reforms. She has also been elected as the Vice President to the Executive Committee of the World Petroleum Council in a toughly contested election. She is also a recipient of many awards such as ‘CMO Council Top 25 Outstanding marketing leaders of India’, ‘CIO 100 Award’ for four consecutive years and the FICCI, FLO Exceptional Women Achievers award, 2014 for her exceptional achievement in the corporate field. A noteworthy mention would be the fact that the former President of India, Ms. Pratibha Patil was also one of the women facilitated on the same occasion.

    Nishi Vasudeva receiving her award

  • Praveen Sinha

    Mr. Praveen Sinha is the Co-founder and Managing Director of Jabong.com. Praveen started this venture with a small core team in 2011 and scaled it up to a large and respected market leader within a few years. Jabong is the third most visited online shopping website that is currently valued at $450-500 million. Under his leadership, Jabong has won coveted awards such as Pure-Play eRetailer of the Year at Indian eRetailer awards 2013, Excellence in eCommerce by Etailing India Expo 2013 and “Online Retailer of the Year” by Etailing India Exhibition 2014.

    Prior to his entrepreneurial debut, Praveen was associated with Mckinsey on transformation projects in South East Asia and India. He is considered turnaround specialist and expert in energy efficiency and Start-ups. Praveen also runs Aquabrim, a firm that is dedicated to water management solution for residential and commercial users.


    Praveen Sinha receiving his award