View News Link

The first National Entrepreneurship Awards 2016 recognized Pradeep Gupta, CMD, Cybermedia (India) Ltd. as the premier Mentor for entrepreneurs in the private category. The award was handed out to him by Home Minister Rajnath Singh and Rajiv Pratap Rudy, MoS for Skill Development and Entrepreneurship, during the awards event yesterday in New Delhi.

A B.Tech from IIT Delhi and PGDBM from IIM Calcutta, Gupta is a first-generation entrepreneur, investor and mentor. He along with his family members promoted CyberMedia in 1982 which has media brands including Dataquest, PCQuest, Voice&Data, CIOL, etc.

He is also an angel investor with a track record of mentoring over 150 startups. He has been associated with leading institutions and bodies promoting entrepreneurship as well.

He is the co-founder of Indian Angel Network(IAN), investing in 30-40 deals annually. He chairs the IIT Alumni Trust, the sponsors of IvyCap Ventures Trust Fund-I, and is on the board of OOM Calcutta Innovation Park, the IIT Delhi and IIM Kolkata incubators.

He has been the past global trustee of TiE, the world’s largest entrepreneurial ecosystem and served on Board of UTI AMC (AUM $20Bn) and its subsidiary UTI Capital, IIT Mandi and FITT. He was also the GP of India’s first angel fund Infinity Ventures.

He has been the past president of PanIIT India Association as well.

CyberMedia is also executing India’s first Electropreneur Park, an incubation centre for Electronics startups.

The National Entrepreneurship Awards this year has been introduced by the Ministry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship to encourage a culture of entrepreneurship across the country.

The Entrepreneurship Awards system has been created through a partnership between MSDE and a number of reputed institutions across the country including, IIT – Delhi, Mumbai, Kanpur and Chennai, Tata Institute of Social Sciences, Mumbai and XLRI, Jamshedpur. Every year, one such institution will play the role of the lead institution to anchor the awards. For 2016-2017, the lead institution is IIT, Delhi.

The awards were presented in 11 categories under two selection tracks – Award Track and Recognition Track.

Under award track, the winning individuals/ enterprises in different categories are as follows:

Agri, Food, & Forestry Products – Wow Momo Foods Private Ltd
Chemicals, Pharma, Bio and other processed material – Saral Design Solutions Private Limited
E-commerce, Logistics, Transport & other Services – JETSETGO Aviation Services
Engineering Services – Swadha Energies
IT &ITES, Financial – Lucideus Tech
SC/ST – JeevAnksh Eco Products Private Limited
Women – S V Engineering and Consultancy Services

Under recognition track, the winning individuals/ enterprises in different categories are as follows:

Entrepreneurship Education – RSETI, Karnatka
Incubation – TREC-STEP, Tiruchirappalli Regional Engineering College
Mentor-Private – Pradeep Gupta, CMD, CyberMedia Group
Mentor-Government – Harkesh K Mital, Head, NSTEDB, Department of Science &Technology, GoI.