The IIM Calcutta-NYU Stern India Research Conference

iimc logo

IIM Calcutta-NYU Stern India Research Conference on Zoom
Friday, October 9, 2020
8 AM to 12 PM New York Time/5:30 PM to 9:30 PM India Time
Kose John and Sudhir Jaiswall, Organizers

Hosts
The Financial Research and Trading Laboratory, IIM Calcutta
Center for Global Economy and Business, NYU Stern

Keynote Speaker
Esther Duflo, Nobel Laureate and Abdul Latif Jameel Professor of Poverty Alleviation and Development
Economics in the Department of Economics at MIT

Program Summary
As the world's largest democracy, with the third largest economy in real terms, the fastest growing working-age population, and a rapidly developing financial system, India is set to become one of the world's most important economic forces in the coming decade. This conference will bring together the leading academic and policy experts for an in-depth discussion of India's financial markets and implications for the global economy.

  • 8:00 AM ET/5:30 PM IST - Welcome and Introductory Remarks Kose John, NYU Stern School of Business
  • 8:10 AM ET/5:40 PM IST - Households and Firms,
    Moderator: Jennifer Carpenter, NYU Stern School of Business

    Household Responses to COVID-19 in India Arpit Gupta, NYU Stern School of Business Anup Malani, U Chicago Law School

    Discussant: Cynthia Kinnan, Tufts School of Arts and Sciences

    Economic Policy Uncertainty and Incentive to Smooth Earnings: Evidence from India
    Yogesh Chauhan, IIM Raipur
    Manju Jaiswall, IIM Calcutta

    Discussant: Shyam Sunder, U Arizona Eller College of Management

  • 9:20 AM ET/6:50 PM IST - Break
  • 9:35 AM ET/7:05 PM IST - Misreporting Banks and Zombie Firms,
    Moderator: David Yermack, NYU Stern School of Business ,

    The Unholy Trinity: Regulatory Forbearance, Stressed Banks and Zombie Firms
    Anusha Chari
    , UNC Kenan-Flagler Business School
    Lakshita Jain, UNC Kenan-Flagler Business School
    Nirupama Kulkarni, CAFRAL, Reserve Bank of India

    Discussant: Anand Srinivasan, National U Singapore and CAFRAL

    Why Do Banks Hide Losses?
    Thomas Flanagan, U Michigan Ross School of Business
    Amiyatosh Purnanandam, U Michigan Ross School of Business

    Discussant: Laura Blattner, Stanford Graduate School of Business

  • 10:45 AM ET/8:15 PM IST - Break
  • 11:00 AM ET/8:30 PM IST - Keynote Speech - Esther Duflo, Nobel Laureate and Abdul Latif Jameel Professor of Poverty Alleviation and Development Economics in the Department of Economics at MIT

    Introduction by Thomas Philippon, NYU Stern School of Business

  • 12:00 PM ET/9:30 PM IST - Closing Remarks - Sudhir Jaiswall, IIM Calcutta