IIMC-NYU Stern India Research Conference Oct 8

iimc logo

You are cordially invited to

The
IIM Calcutta-NYU Stern
India Research Conference

Friday, October 8, 2021
9:00 AM to 1:05 PM New York Time / 6:30 PM to 10:35 PM India Time

Kose John and Sudhir Jaiswall, Organizers

Hosts
The Financial Research and Trading Laboratory, IIM Calcutta
Center for Global Economy and Business, NYU Stern

Keynote Speaker
Raghuram Rajan, Katherine Dusak Miller Distinguished Service
Professor of Finance at the University of Chicago Booth and
Former Governor of the Reserve Bank of India

Program Summary

As the world's largest democracy, with the third largest economy in real terms, the fastest growing working-age population, and a rapidly developing financial system, India is set to become one of the world's most important economic forces in the coming decade. This conference will bring together the leading academic and policy experts for an in-depth discussion of India's financial markets and implications for the global economy.

9:00 AM ET/6:30 PM IST Welcome and Introductory Remarks
Kose John, NYU Stern School of Business
9:10 AM ET/6:40 PM IST Research Paper Session I -
Moderator: Jennifer Carpenter, NYU Stern School of Business
Financial Development and Health - Kim Cramer, Columbia Business School
Discussant: Arpit Gupta, NYU Stern School of Business

Winds of Change: Gender Quota on Boards in the Face of Patriarchy - S. Lakshmi Naaraayanan, London Business School, Kasper Nielsen, Copenhagen Business School
Discussant: Lalitha Naveen, Temple U Fox School of Business
10:20 AM ET/7:50 PM IST Break
10:35 AM ET/8:05 PM IST Research Paper Session II -
Moderator: David Yermack, NYU Stern School of Business
Do Firms Have a Preference Order While Repaying Lenders? Relationship vs. Transaction Banking - Nitin Vishen, Indian School of Business Hyderabad
Discussant: Vikrant Vig, London Business School

Hiding Behind the Veil: Informed Traders and Pre-Trade Opacity - K. Kiran Kumar, Indian Institute of Management Indore, Ramabhadran S. Thirumalai, Indian School of Business Hyderabad, Pradeep K. Yadav, U Oklahoma Price College of Business
Discussant: Jonathan Brogaard, U Utah Eccles School of Business
11:45 AM ET/9:15 PM IST Break
12:00 PM ET/9:30 PM IST Keynote Speech
Raghuram Rajan, Katherine Dusak Miller Distinguished Service Professor of Finance at the University of Chicago Booth School of Business and Former Governor of the Reserve Bank of India
Introduction by Viral Acharya, NYU Stern School of Business
1:05 PM ET/10:35 PM IST Closing Remarks
Sudhir Jaiswall, Indian Institute of Management Calcutta

Sponsors
The Financial Research and Trading Laboratory,
Indian Institute of Management, Calcutta
NYU Stern Center for Global Economy and Business

For additional information, please contact cgeb@stern.nyu.edu