JAAF India Symposium 2021

5th JAAF India Symposium
Hosted by IIM Calcutta over Zoom
January 7 & 8, 2021 (6:00 PM – 9:30 PM India time)

Day 1: Thursday, January 7, 2021
January 7, 2021
6:00 pm – 6:10 pm IST / 7:30 am – 7:40 am EST
Welcome Address
Anju Seth, Director, IIM Calcutta
January 7, 2021
6:15 pm – 7:00 pm IST / 7:45 am – 8:30 am EST
Keynote Speech: "Boards and the Directors who Sit on Them"
Renée Adams, Saïd Business School, University of Oxford
January 7, 2021
7:05 pm – 7:50 pm IST / 8:35 am – 9:20 am EST
Paper #1: Consumer Demand Shocks & Firm Linkages: Evidence from Demonetization in India
Authors: Faizaan Kisat (Princeton University) and Minh Phan (Columbia Business School)
Discussant: Nirupama Kulkarni (CAFRAL)
January 7, 2021
7:55 pm – 8:40 pm IST / 9:25 am – 10:10 am EST
Paper #2: Is the CEO-to-Employee Pay Ratio Disclosure Relevant to Stakeholders?
Authors: Gopal V. Krishnan (Bentley University) and Paul Tanyi (University of North Carolina Charlotte)
Discussant: Ana Marques (University of East Anglia)
January 7, 2021
8:45 pm – 9:30 pm IST / 10:15 am – 11:00 am EST
Paper #3: Lifetime Earnings
Authors: Sanjeev Bhojraj (Cornell University), Ashish Ochani (Cornell University), and Shiva Rajgopal (Columbia Business School)
Discussant: Shyam V. Sunder (University of Arizona)
Day 2: Friday, January 8, 2021
January 8, 2021
6:00 pm – 6:45 pm IST / 7:30 am – 8:15 am EST
Paper #4: Disclosure and Shareholder Voting: Evidence from India
Authors: Wen He (Monash University), Ankit Jain (University of Queensland), and Shyam V. Sunder (University of Arizona)
Discussant: Richard Crowley (Singapore Management University)
January 8, 2021
6:50 pm – 7:35 pm IST / 8:20 am – 9:05 am EST
Paper #5: Are Critical Audit Matters Informative?
Authors: Julia Klevak (QMA), Joshua Livnat (New York University and QMA), Selina Pei (Rutgers University), and Kate Suslava (Bucknell University)
Discussant: Kannan Raghunandan (Florida International University)
January 8, 2021
7:40 pm – 8:25 pm IST / 9:10 am – 9:55 am EST
Paper #6: To Tell or Not to Tell - The Incentive Effects of Disclosing Employer Assessments
Authors: Alexandra Lilge (Leibniz Universität at Hannover) and Abhishek Ramchandani (University of Texas at Austin)
Discussant: Michael Alles (Rutgers University)
January 8, 2021
8:30 pm – 9:15 pm IST / 10:00 am – 10:45 am EST
Paper #7: Bankruptcy Law and Equity Capital Evidence from India
Authors: Bitan Chakraborty, Sanjay Kallapur, Sriniwas Mahapatro, and Prasanna Tantri (All authors are from Indian School of Business)
Discussant: Abhinav Anand (IIM Bangalore)
January 8, 2021
9:15 pm – 9:25 pm IST / 10:45 am – 10:55 am EST
Concluding Remarks
Bharat Sarath (Rutgers University),
Editor, Journal of Accounting, Auditing, and Finance.
January 8, 2021
9:25 – 9:30 pm IST / 10:55 am - 11:00 am EST
Vote of Thanks
Manju Jaiswall (IIM Calcutta)

India 6:00pm-9:30pm, New York 7:30am-11:00am, London 12:30pm-4:00pm, Berlin 1:30pm-5:00pm,Singapore 8:30pm-12:00am, Melbourne 11:30pm-3:00am